Posted by: mosblog | June 11, 2007

I was in my first triathlon!

This morning I got up at 4:45 am to be in my first triathlon ever. I was so excited about it I didn’t sleep much at all as I looked forward to being out with the other swimmers for that 7am start.

While I’d like to think I was fit enough to be competing I was actually just in it as a volunteer helper. But, the cool part is that my job was to ride a SeaDoo back and forth on one leg of the swimming part to be there in case any of the actual athletes cramped up or needed some kind of assistance. It was pretty rad. There were about 200 athletes that participated. And about 9 million people who volunteered.

There wasn’t much excitement in my job since no one got hurt (is it bad that I was bummed that no one cramped up?). The most I did (besides look stinking cool and get a closer than front row view) was nab an ancient beer can that drifted into the middle of the swimming area hitting swimmers in the arms. And the re-re thing I did was when it was over and time to bring the bouys in I somehow got a rope sucked up into my SeaDoo. It was toast and my job ended a bit earlier than the other 3 persons who were also on them. Oh well. I heard from Disney Watersports that they got it out just fine and it wasn’t damaged (thank the Lord!).

Responses

  1. I’m so proud of you!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

