Posted by: mosblog | June 20, 2008

Summer is in the Hay-ouse!

So today is not only the start of summer on the calendar, it’s also the start of summer vacation for me. Well, sort of. I mean, I’m not going anywhere or anything….although I should!  Any suggestions as to where the kids and I can go?

Lately I’ve been feeling like I’m totally unorganized and uptight and the house is a mess. I finally figured out today that this is the FIRST day in June that I’ve been home the entire day! No wonder I’m a wreck! And to add to that, out of the last 19 days in June I realized 9 of those days were spent driving in to town 2 different times in one day (i.e. in the AM I’d drive Bella to preschool, then come home after she got done with preschool, then drive to Eric’s softball game that evening, etc). Ugh!

So my plans for this summer involve trying to have more home time during the day, whether it’s just the kids and I here, or we have someone over. Part of the reason for this is because my health sucks right now (messed up neck, heart doing funny things off and on, etc) and I want to focus on correcting that. We’ll see if it works. The alternative is to become a hypochondriac, go on lots of medicines and then use this blog to complain about my ailments. That’s just plan B though.

Another plan of mine is to take Bella to the library every 10 days or so and have her go through their summer reading dealio…and Noah too (as a listener, of course). And I’m also planning on doing some sort of scripture memorization thing where she and I both memorize as much as we can. Not sure yet what all that will include. My goal for Noah is to have him potty trained by the end….we’ll see though. In my mind it’s a bit ambitious since Bella was potty trained just after she turned 2. Noah won’t be 2 until the end of July….and summer is halfway over by then! Not much more peeing outside time!

Anyway, what are your plans for the summer?

Responses

  1. O.K. #1 my heart does the same exact thing. Let’s just agreee to live life normally and see what takes place. My heart is determined to mess up my life. Let’s just see.

    So, when our hearts bring us projects, turmoil, agreements, etc. Let’s just join into the rhythm of life and Bless those around us.

    “As for me and my house, We will serve the Lord”

    Thank You and Thank You Jesus!!

  2. I’m working (4) 10hrs this summer swapping Monday’s and Friday’s off. Don’t hurt your brain figuring this out but let’s just say I get a 4-day weekend every other weekend. Suh-weet!

    So this summer I’m painting the walls in our house!!!! The living room is going lavender (just the vaulted walls since the lower half is solid wood) and probably the upstairs hall. The upstairs hall won’t stay lavender, just painting it with any leftovers because I despise the coffee-stained-teeth-yellow. That would be “Monet Lily” to be precise.

    Peeling the wallpaper (also the coffee-stained-teeth-yellow color but with little tiny blue flowers, too) in the upstairs bathroom and that’s going to be “asparagus” green – a dull version of the apple green from k-ville. Painting the vanity and trim”Celery”.

    And a little less on the exciting side – fixing some of the drainage at the sides of our house. It gets really swampy since half the road run-off comes down our property to the creek in the back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

