Posted by: mosblog | July 13, 2009

Plumber’s Smile

So a couple weeks ago our toilet started using extra water and sending our water bill higher and higher. We knew we needed to get something on it fixed and Eric figured out what that something was. A tank level doohikey thing….basically almost everything you find inside the tank of the toilet. Anyway, he purchased the parts, fixed something else on the toilet, and then hasn’t had time to fix the thing inside the toilet too.

Fast forward to today when water started leaking out the bottom of our kitchen sink every time you turned it on. Normally I would just quit using the sink altogether as a permanent fix to the problem, but this time I was motivated. I asked Eric if we could call someone to come fix both dealios (these are the technical terms for these things, folks!). 

After Eric okay’d it something strange happened. It was like Rosie the Riveter came alive in me! I thought, well shoot, how hard could it be to fix these things myself? I mean, I could at least investigate it and see what it’ll take! So, that’s just what I did! I grabbed a bucket, some big orange plumbing uh, wrench thing, a smaller wrench thing and a flashlight. After having Bella switch the water off and on at the sink a few times I figured out where it was leaking and that all it needed was to be tightened. 7 minutes later…$25 saved!

Next I took all of my sweet tools that I don’t fully know the names of (so let’s just call them the Smith Family) and went to fix the toilet. After reading the directions (that’s so female of me!) I went to work, removed the old water floating tube device thingamajig, cleaned things up, replaced it and it’s all as good as new! 30 minutes later….$50 saved!

I’m pretty sure at this point that I’m freaking amazing. My head is so big I may have to get the wood-cutting tool things to cut a new doorway out of the house! Oh, and dinner has been cooking in the crockpot for 4 hours.

Responses

  1. I know that feeling! It is so satisfying to be able to do stuff like that yourself. ROCK ON!!

    ~My moment of triumph was when my wonderful tech geek of a husband didn’t have time to hook up our new dsl line. I did all myself and then had to teach him how to use it…so sweet.

  2. Since you’ll be cutting a new doorway, you know I’ve always loved that red door of yours…

  3. could you come fix our do-hickie-thinga-majiggy?…it leaks…….

  4. You are awesome! Make sure Eric lets you use that $75 you saved to buy some pink tools. I have a set, all nicely matching pink in a little pink tool box that says “Ladies Tools.” I get really ticked when Todd borrows them!

  5. My Hero!


Leave a Reply

Categories

