Posted by: mosblog | March 15, 2014

Broccoli Chicken Soup & What to do on shopping day

I don’t know about you, but on shopping day I spend so much time, money and brain power on finding all the best deals that come dinner time and all I want to do is feed everyone the new cereal I just picked up. So this time, I tried something new. On the day I did major grocery shopping, especially of all my fruits and veggies I threw a chicken into the crockpot in the morning. Here’s the recipe:

Crockpot Chicken

  • Ball up 4 pieces of foil and place in bottom of crockpot.
  • Rinse off whole chicken and sprinkle seasoning of choice all over it, and some inside it too. (sometimes I use salt, pepper and thyme, other times I use NomNomPaleo‘s Magic Mushroom Powder (in her cookbook “Food for Humans”), sometimes I use basil, you get the idea)
  • Place chicken, breast side down on the foil.
  • Cook on low for 7 hours. (you read correctly, you do not add water or liquid)

Then, when I got home from the shopping trip I grabbed Spinach and whatever other veggies we like in a salad and I chopped and combined into a green salad, tore off some of the chicken from above and added it. Serve that with a loaf of locally made fresh bread, or some gluten-free muffins you made the day before and there’s dinner!

The next night, with the rest of the chicken, I added it to the Cream of Broccoli Soup with Chicken recipe. The whole fambam loved it and it made the house smell delish. The soup would also be yummo with some bacon and/or roasted nuts on it if you were looking for more protein and fat. Then again, everything is more yummo with bacon and/or roasted nuts on it, right?

Leave a Reply

Categories

